Acorn Road, Hemel Hempstead, Herts, HP3 8DW | Tel: 01442 264 835 | Email:
St Albert The Great Catholic Primary School
August 15 2016



Governors may be contacted via the school office or at

Mrs Debra Gee (CHAIR OF GOVERNORS):  Debra is a former Parent Governor, now Foundation Governor, and has served as Chair of Governors since September 2016.  She has one child at the school and works as a school counsellor as part of Hertfordshire County Council’s SafeSpace Service. Debra serves on both subcommittees and is the Link Governor for Safeguarding, Human Resources, After-School and Breakfast Club.

Mrs Alison Spice (VICE CHAIR OF GOVERNORS):  Alison is Vice Chair of Governors, a Foundation Governor and has two children at the school.  She has a background in Marketing, Corporate Events and Promotions.  Alison works in the office of St Thomas More Catholic Primary School.  She is the Chair of Learning & Achievement sub-committee, link Governor for Pupil Premium and SEND.

Fr. Kim Addison: Fr. Kim is our Parish Priest and Foundation Governor. He is an experienced governor, linked to the subject areas of IT and RE and serves on both sub-committees.

Mrs Wendy Goodinson: Wendy is a LEA Governor and an Associate Partner of Synergy Construction and Property Consultants.  Wendy has considerable experience in working with faith schools, offering advice and support for Headteachers and Governors when working on education projects including brand new schools (St Albert’s included), classroom extensions and volumetric builds.  She also manages repair and maintenance contracts, working with experienced building surveyors and mechanical and electrical services refurbishments and has been working with schools for over 30 years. Wendy serves on the Resources Committee and is Link Governor for Health & Safety and Science (including Forest School).

Mr Michael Stothard M.B.E., K.S.G., J.P:  Michael is a Foundation Governor with link responsibilities for the vision, ethos and values of this Catholic school and RE. He was, for over 25 years, Headteacher of John F. Kennedy School and has acted as an adviser and governor trainer as well as clerk to the governors of a number of schools, primary, secondary and special. He was a magistrate for 30 years and was Chair of the Dacorum Bench and Family Panel. Michael is Chair of Resources Committee, serves on both sub-committees and is Link Governor for Maths.

Mrs Leanne Turp:  Leanne has been a teacher at St Albert the Great School since January 2015 and our Staff Governor since June 2016.  She has been teaching for 12 years across the Early Years and Key Stage 1.  She became a governor because she felt it would be a good way to get to know the school, deepen her understanding of how a school runs and ultimately to help ensure St Albert’s is the best school it can be.  She feels that by working together, we can ensure that all children achieve their full potential and enjoy their learning experiences. Leanne serves on both Learning & Achievement and Admissions Committees.

Mrs Valerie Fitzpatrick: Valerie is a Foundation Governor and her interest in education began when working for the LB or Croydon, Education Department. Whilst her 3 children were young she helped in their school and returned to employment as school secretary at Martindale School before joining her husband in his business. Now retired, Valerie is currently a volunteer advisor at the Citizens Advice Bureau and has helped with the First Holy Communion programme at St. Mary & St. Joseph church as catechist and administrator. Her interest in education continues as she follows the progress of her 10 grandchildren. Valerie serves on the Learning & Achievement Committee, and is Link Governor for EYFS and History.

Sarah Alves: Sarah is our new Parent Governor and has 3 children at the school.

Download (PDF, 84KB)

Download (PDF, 59KB)

Download (PDF, 70KB)

Minutes of the Governing Body meetings are available on request from the school office.